Offering a welcoming church community to all people, wherever they may be on their journey of faith, celebrating the glory of God through worship, fellowship, and service.

Work of the Deacons

The Board of Deacons provides a vital service in coordinating the caring ministries of the church.

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry. (from the Book of Order)


  • 24 men and women, 3-year term, 8 are new each year
  • The Board of Deacons may also include a member in high school, with the same responsibilities, for a 1-year term
  • Elected by PCCT members at the Annual All-Church Breakfast and Meeting in January
  • Each Deacon is responsible for an Area Ministry, which consists of approximately 17-20 families, and communicates news of the congregation with them.


  • Strengthen the “sense of community” among church members
  • Serve as an information link between the church and individual members
  • As information becomes available, communicate via phone call or e-mail to area ministries
  • Facilitate caring ministries of the church

Deacon Responsibilities:

  • Deliver Chancel Flower
  • Coordinate Memorial Receptions
  • Prepare Communion
  • Coordinate church services at Chatham Hills Subacute Care Center
  • Sponsor special events
  • Serve a Lenten Soup Supper
  • Host the Service of Remembrance
  • Write cards to shut-ins, etc. as part of the Sunshine committee
  • Host the Annual All-Church Breakfast

2021 – 2022 Board of Deacons

Carla Bond – Moderator

Barbara Edwards – Co-Moderator

Julie Bliemel – Secretary

Rev. Thomas A. Brown, Pastoral Staff

Class of 2022

Julie Bliemel, Carla Bond, Lisa Duff, David Ethridge, Ann Jadro, Lois Mason, Verna Mecadon, Patti Montefusco

Class of 2023

Andy Brummer, Barbara Edwards, Virginia Hofler, Joslin Ruffle, Mark Schmitter, Margie Tompkins, Kerry Wehring

Class of 2024

Deb Ahsler, Marc Bliemel, Beth Colombari, Mark D’Costa, Lissa MacCallum, Jeff Patten, Carrie Reasons, Cheryl Templeton, Kraig Williams